Bangkok’s Calling

English: Boxing match in Bangkok,Thailand. htt...

So the other day I went into Waterstones slightly hungover and thought it would be a good idea to buy the Lonely Planet book on Bangkok, seeing as I have the Rough Guides to both Australia and New Zealand but nothing on Bangkok. I didn’t realise until I went up to the till that the book cost £14 which is half the amount that my hostel costs for my entire stay in Bangkok. I don’t know if this says more about the book being expensive or my hostel being crap.

Saying that my hostel in Bangkok does look amazing. It’s called NapPark@KhaoSan, catchy name I know (http://www.nappark.com/). It cost just over £6 a night for a 6 bed dorm which is pretty good compared to the prices in Australia and New Zealand but about the norm Bangkok from what I’ve seen. The photos of the hostel they have put up on the website make it out to look pretty posh and swanky, which I did surprise me because I expected hostels in Bangkok to be pretty grotty.

Back to the book, I got the book just to give me an insight into what activities I could do and sights I could see. The things I have picked out at the moment are; Thai Boxing, which is something I have always wanted to see as I am a lover of UFC. Apparently tickets to the Thai Boxing can vary a fair bit from 1000 to 2000 bahts which works out as £20-£40, which I would expect to pay here but seems a bit expensive for Thailand. Another thing I want to do is get a traditional Thai massage, I’ve never had a proper massage before but when in Rome. I also want to taste some of the famous Thai street food and I see myself as a bit of a Bear Grylls so I reckon I will try a scorpion or maybe a snakes heart. I don’t know if you can even buy a snakes’ heart but I saw it on Gordon Ramsay once and snakes are only small so they can’t taste that bad. One of the things the Lonely Planet book kept harping on about were the different temples that are situated around Bangkok, I’m not sure if you are allowed in or if you just look at them or if you can talk to the monks or if the monks can even talk English but I think it will be a good photo opportunity.

So those are my loose plans for Bangkok and my thoughts on the activities before I go.

Only a Month to go,

Kaan

2 thoughts on “Bangkok’s Calling

  1. Hey man,

    The street food is amazing, and really cheap. Pad Thai is a typical dish, but the red curry is also delicious. If you have the money to spare, try Thonkrueng restaurant in Sikhomvit. A little out of the way, but not too expensive and the food will blow your mind. You’ll find all sorts of weird stuff to eat (frogs, cockroaches, locusts, worms etc.) around Khao San – there’s a lady on Rambutri just around the corner who wheels around a cart.

    Temples worth a look – especially Wat Pho, Wat Phae Kreu, Wat Arun (a little out of the way though). They are everywhere and are as much a tourist attraction now as a place of worship.

    The massages are a treat. Around Khao San they are only 100 Baht for half an hour and you can try all sorts – head massage, foot massage, thai massage etc.

    Let me know if you’ve got any other questions!

Leave a comment